About Metro Transit Police Department

Ronald A. Pavlik Jr. Ronald A. Pavlik, Jr.
Chief, Metro Transit Police

On June 4, 1976, President Ford signed into law a bill passed by Congress authorizing the establishment of the Metro Transit Police Department (MTPD). MTPD police officers have tri-state jurisdiction with responsibility for a variety of law enforcement and public safety functions in transit facilities throughout the Washington, DC Metropolitan area.

MTPD has an authorized strength of 490 sworn police officers, 64 security special police, and 91 civilian personnel. Officers provide a variety of law enforcement and public safety services on the Metrorail and Metrobus systems in the Washington Metropolitan Area.

MTPD police officers have jurisdiction and arrest powers throughout the 1,500 square mile Transit Zone that includes Maryland, Virginia, and the District of Columbia for crimes that occur in or against Transit Authority facilities. It is the only tri-jurisdictional police agency in the country and serves a population of 3.2 million.

Mission Statement

The Mission of the Metro Transit Police Department is to provide protection for Metro patrons, personnel, transit facilities, and revenue.

Vision Statement

The Metro Transit Police will protect and serve our customers and employees with dignity and respect, through innovative ideas, new technologies, teamwork, integrity, a commitment to our mission, and the oath of office.

Join MTPD Today! Eligibility Requirements Pay and Benefits
Recruiting Division Physical Agility Test Training Academy