For immediate release: September 12, 2017

Metro Accessibility Advisory Committee seeks nominations for Heddinger Award

The Accessibility Advisory Committee (AAC) of Metro is seeking nominations for the 2017 Richard W. Heddinger Accessible Transportation Award. The award recognizes a person or organization whose efforts have resulted in significant improvements to accessible public transportation services for people with disabilities in Metro's service area. Nominations are being accepted through Monday, September 25th, and the presentation of the award will be made at the Accessibility Excellence Awards on November 2, 2017.

The award honors former AAC Chair Richard W. Heddinger for his lifelong commitment to accessible public transportation and his tireless devotion to providing access for all citizens of the Washington metropolitan area.

Nominations are encouraged and may include:

  • Disability advocates who have worked to support successful efforts to improve accessibility in Metrorail, Metrobus, or MetroAccess services;
  • Organizations that have made significant efforts to inform and educate the public about Metro's accessibility features, or have highlighted accessibility issues and provided innovative solutions;
  • Employees of Metro or other local public transit agencies in the region who excel at their jobs, and go above and beyond the call of duty to enhance the accessibility of Metrorail, Metrobus and MetroAccess service; or
  • AAC members who have contributed long-term, steadfast quality leadership to enhance accessibility in the region.

For additional information, or to request a nomination form, please contact Dr. B. Moore Gwynn, Metro's AAC Coordinator in the Office of ADA Policy and Planning, at 301-618-7723 or by email