SmarTrip® Terms and Conditions

The Ridership Rules & Guidelines and Fares stated in the documentation posted is applicable to the transportation of passengers on the Metrorail and Metrobus systems of the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority from one point to another within the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Zone which generally covers territories within the District of Columbia, the cities of Alexandria, Falls Church, Fairfax, Manassas, and Manassas Park and the counties of Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, and part of Prince William, and the political subdivisions of the Commonwealth of Virginia located within those counties, and the counties of Montgomery, Prince George’s, and parts of Charles and Anne Arundel and political subdivisions of the State of Maryland located in said counties. 

For information regarding paratransit service in the above locations, please refer to the Customer Guide to MetroAccess available here.