Minutes



Special Meeting of the Board of Directors June 23, 2009

Chairman Graham called the meeting to order at 2:07 p.m. Present were:

Directors

Mr. Jim Graham Mr. Peter Benjamin Mrs. Catherine Hudgins

Mr. Neil Albert

Ms. Elizabeth Hewlett

Mr. Christopher Zimmerman

Alternate Directors

Mr. Michael Brown Mr. Gordon Linton Mr. Jeff McKay

Mr. Anthony Giancola Mr. Marcell Solomon Mr. William Euille

Board Secretary Loyda Sequeira-Castillo was also present.

Mr. Graham moved, seconded by Mr. Benjamin, that the Board meet in Executive Session to discuss safety and security matters consistent with Board Procedure VI.F. This motion was unanimously approved.

Ayes: 6 - Mr. Graham, Mr. Benjamin, Mrs. Hudgins, Mr. Albert, Ms. Hewlett and Mr. Zimmerman

At 2:14 p.m. Mr. Graham suspended the public meeting to enter into Executive Session.

Reconvene

At 4:10 p.m. Chairman Graham reconvened the Public Session. Mr. Benjamin moved, seconded by Mrs. Hudgins, approval of a resolution directing the General Manager to establish an emergency hardship relief fund of \$250,000 from the Liability Reserve Fund to provide immediate financial relief for victims of the collision on June 22, 2009, to assist them with their medical, funeral and other immediate expenses. The resolution also directed the General Manager to establish appropriate criteria for determining qualifying expenses and verifying the appropriate legal representative.

Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority

600 Fifth Street, NW Washington, DC 20001 202/962-1234

By Metrorall: Judiciary Square—Red Line Gallery Place-Chinatown— Red, Green and Yellow Lines By Metrobus: Routes D1, D3, D6, P6, 70, 71, 80, X2 This motion was unanimously approved. A copy of the approved Resolution (2009-43) has been made a part of the official file.

Ayes: 6 - Mr. Graham, Mr. Benjamin, Mrs. Hudgins, Mr. Albert, Ms. Hewlett and Mr. Zimmerman

Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 4:15 p.m.

Loyda Sequeira Castillo, Board Secretary