

Minutes

1317th Special Meeting of the Board of Directors April 12, 2007

Mr. Zimmerman called the meeting to order at 9:38 a.m. Present were:

Directors

Mr. Christopher Zimmerman Mr. Jim Graham Mr. Dana Kauffman Mr. Emeka Moneme

Alternate Directors

Mr. William Euille Mrs. Catherine Hudgins Mr. Anthony Giancola

Staff

Mr. John Catoe, Jr. Mr. Steven Feil Mr. Gerald Francis Mr. James Hughes Ms. Polly Hanson Ms. Carol O'Keeffe Mr. Chuck Woodruff Ms. Sara Wilson

Approval of Agenda:

Mr. Graham moved, seconded by Mr. Zimmerman, that the agenda be approved. The agenda was approved as submitted.

Report by Vice Chair:

Mr. Zimmerman administered the oaths of office to Ms. Elizabeth Hewlett, representing Prince George's County, MD, and Mr. Peter Benjamin, representing Montgomery County, MD.

Election of Officers

Mr. Graham noted the presence of a quorum. Mr. Zimmerman called for the election of the new Board Chair.

Mr. Benjamin nominated Ms. Hewlett as Chair of the Board for 2007. Mr. Zimmerman seconded the motion, and it was unanimously approved.

Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority

600 Fifth Street, NW Washington, D.C. 20001 202/962-1234

By Metrorail: Judiciary Square-Red Line Gallery Place-Chinatown Red, Green and Yellow Lines

> A District of Columbia, Maryland and Virginia Transit Partnership

Ayes: 6 – Ms. Hewlett, Mr. Zimmerman, Mr. Graham, Mr. Benjamin, Mr. Kauffman, and Mr. Moneme

Report by Chair

Ms. Hewlett expressed her wish to rise to the occasion, noting that she looked forward to the teamwork and collaborative effort to serve all well.

She then administered the oath of office to Mr. Gerald Francis as Deputy General Manager.

ADJOURNMENT:

Mr. Zimmerman moved, seconded by Mr. Moneme, that the Board meet in Executive Session following the committee meetings to discuss personnel issues. This motion was unanimously approved.

Ayes: 6 – Ms. Hewlett, Mr. Zimmerman, Mr. Graham, Mr. Benjamin, Mr. Kauffman, and Mr. Moneme

The meeting was adjourned at 10:49 a.m.

Leen'da Chambliss, Assistant Board Secretary