## Report by Chairman 1-29-09

SUBJECT: APPROVAL OF RIDERS' ADVISORY COUNCIL APPOINTMENTS

PROPOSED

RESOLUTION

OF THE

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

OF THE

WASHINGTON METROPOLITAN AREA TRANSIT AUTHORITY

WHEREAS, In Resolution No. 2005-44, the Board of Directors established a Riders' Advisory Council and adopted governing by-laws and standards of conduct for the Council on September 22, 2005; and

WHEREAS, In Resolution No. 2005-51, the Board of Directors appointed 21 members to the Riders' Advisory Council on December 15, 2005; and

WHEREAS, Members appointed to the Riders' Advisory Council on December 15, 2005, received staggered one-, two- and three-year terms, as determined by drawing lots; and

WHEREAS, Article III Section C of the Riders' Advisory Council By-Laws states that "Members may be considered for reappointment at the end of their term through the established selection process. The selection process shall consider the value of retaining some historical memory as well as the value of new ideas. However, no person shall serve on the RAC for more than four (4) complete terms, with the exception of the Chair of the WMATA Elderly and Disabled Committee, who shall not be so limited;" and

WHEREAS, Article III Section C of the Riders' Advisory Council By-Laws also states that "Terms shall follow the calendar year and normally commence in January after action by the Board. Terms shall expire on the later of December 31 or when the Board makes new appointments to the RAC;" and

WHEREAS, The Riders' Advisory Council vacancies consist of three seats from the District of Columbia, three seats from the State of Maryland and one seat from the Commonwealth of Virginia and two seats appointed At-Large, without regard to jurisdiction; now, therefore be it

RESOLVED, That the Board of Directors hereby reappoints Patricia Daniels, and Kenneth DeGraff and appoints David Alpert to represent the District of Columbia; and be it further

*RESOLVED,* That the Board of Directors hereby reappoints Sharon Conn, and appoints Francis DeBernardo and Lora Routt to represent the State of Maryland; and be it further

*RESOLVED,* That the Board of Directors hereby reappoints Penelope Everline to represent the Commonwealth of Virginia; and be it further

*RESOLVED,* That the Board of Directors hereby appoints Carl Seip and Dharm Guruswamy as At-Large representatives, without regard to jurisdiction; and be it further

*RESOLVED,* That the terms of all members appointed in this action will expire in December 2011, with the exception of Ms. Routt, whose term will expire in December 2009 and Mr. Seip and Mr. Alpert, whose terms will expire in December 2010; and be it finally

RESOLVED, That this Resolution shall be effective immediately.

Reviewed as to form and legal sufficiency

Carol B. O'Keeffe General Counsel